History of the Firm
Tilden-Coil’s foundation is one of integrity, visionary thinking and moderate controlled growth. This has been the culture of the organization since its beginning in 1938 when Marshall Tilden began building homes for farm laborers and defense workers in the Riverside area.
Henry Coil, Jr., a civil engineer with a law degree, joined Marshall Tilden in 1971. Under Coil’s leadership, Tilden-Coil Constructors, Inc. transitioned into commercial, industrial and institutional construction. Consistent with Henry Coil’s commitment to running a company of the highest integrity, Coil developed strong philanthropic ties to the Riverside community and became active in numerous civic organizations.
During the 80’s, Tilden-Coil continued to grow and expand its portfolio of experience. The company was recognized for its performance in the areas of medical facilities, banks, office and retail remodels and construction. Throughout the Western United States, newspaper publishers turned to Tilden-Coil for the building and refurbishing of publishing facilities.
As the 90’s rolled in, Henry Coil turned over the management of the company to a dedicated five-man team of tenured Tilden-Coil veterans. Carrying on the tradition of quality performance and honest relationships, the leadership team positioned the firm for even greater growth and successes. Tilden-Coil emerged as one of the premier builders of schools in the Inland Empire. The firm is also highly regarded for its work in historic renovation and seismic retrofit. One of its flagship projects is the renovation of the 1903 Riverside County Courthouse.
Today, Tilden-Coil Constructors, Inc. is committed to carrying on the culture that began in 1938. The leadership team of Tilden-Coil today continues to shape the firm in its growth and development with a dedication to quality, integrity and unwavering discipline towards the organizations purpose.